Resources


These organizations have a wealth of information, tips and tools to help you along.
Use these links to help develop, operate and expand your business!


Developing your Business Plan

Aboriginal Business Service Network – www.absn.ca
Basin Business Advisors – www.bbaprogram.ca
Canada Business Network – www.canadabusiness.ca
Community Futures – Central Kootenay – futures.bc.ca
Futurpreneur – www.futurepreneur.ca
go2HR – Resource for Tourism – www.go2hr.ca
Kootenay Aboriginal Business Development Agency – www.kabda.org
Kootenay Employment Services – Small Business Assistance – kes.bc.ca/CMS2/small-business-assistance
Small Business BC – www.smallbusinessbc.ca
Women’s Enterprise Centre – www.womensenterprise.ca
WorkBC – self employment – www.workbc.ca


Market Research
BC Stats – www.bcstats.gov.bc.ca
Business Retention and Expansion (BRE) Survey (Spring 2016)  – kes.bc.ca/pdf/CRESTON_BRE_Report_Final.pdf
British Columbia Tourism – www.destinationbc.ca/Research/Industry-Performance/Tourism-Indicators.aspx
City-Data – www.city-data.com/canada/Creston-Town.html
College of the Rockies – www.cotr.bc.ca/creston/
Columbia Basin RDI – Creston Valley – www.cbrdi.ca/Communities/Central-Kootenay/Creston-Valley
Community Profile – Creston, BC – datacat.cbrdi.ca/sites/default/files/attachments/Creston_2015_Profile.pdf
Creston Valley-Kootenay Lake Economic Snapshot – kes.bc.ca/pdf/CV-KL_Economic_Profile.pdf
Creston & District Happiness Report Card (Spring 2015) – kes.bc.ca/pdf/Survey_Report_Card_web.pdf
Economic Development – Lower Kootenay Band – lowerkootenay.com/departments/economic-development/
FrontCounterBC – www.frontcounterbc.gov.bc.ca
Imagine Kootenay – www.imaginekootenay.com
Kootenay Rockies Tourism – www.krtourism.ca
Official Community Plan (OCP) – www.creston.ca/DocumentCenter/View/1500/2017-Official-Community-Plan
Official Community Plan (OCP) – Other Documents – www.creston.ca/2234/Official-Community-Plan
Rural Development Conference Minutes (Winter 2018) – kes.bc.ca/pdf/Creston_Session_Minutes_Final.pdf
Selkirk College – selkirk.ca/about-us/coming-to-campus/campus-locations
Statistics Canada – www.statcan.gc.ca


Finding the Money
Aboriginal Business Service Network – fnbc.info/resources
BDC – www.bdc.ca
CIBC in Creston – locations.cibc.com/bc/creston/00170
Community Futures – Central Kootenay – futures.bc.ca 
Creston & District Credit Union – www.cdcu.com/Personal/
Creston & District Community Investment Co-op – www.communityinvestmentcoop.ca/ 
Kootenay Aboriginal Business Development Agency – www.kabda.org
Kootenay Employment Services – Small Business Assistance – kes.bc.ca/CMS2/small-business-assistance
Kootenay Rockies Innovation Council – www.kric.ca
Social Enterprise Canada – www.socialenterprisecanada.ca
Women’s Enterprise Centre – www.womensenterprise.ca
WorkBC – self employment – www.workbc.ca


Making it Official – Permits & Licenses
Establish your business formally and legally
BC Business Registry – www.bcbusinessregistry.ca
BC Liquor Regulation & Licensing – www2.gov.bc.ca/gov/content/employment-business/business
BizPal – Business Permit and License Information – www.bcbizpal.ca
Health Approval & Permits – www.interiorhealth.ca/YourEnvironment/FoodSafety/Pages/Permits.aspx
Regional District of Central Kootenays (RDCK) – www.rdck.ca/EN/index.html
Town of Creston – Doing business in Creston – www.creston.ca/2145/Business
Work Safe BC – www.worksafebc.com


Hiring Employees
Canada – BC Job Grant – www.workbc.ca/Employer-Resources/Canada-BC-Job-Grant.aspx
CBT School Works Program – ourtrust.org/funding-support/funding-support-programs/school-works/
Chambers Group Insurance Plan – www.chambers.ca
Employers’ Advisors Office – www.labour.gov.bc.ca/eao
go2HR – Resource for Tourism – www.go2hr.ca
Kootenay Employment Services – kes.bc.ca
WorkBC – www.workbc.ca
Work Safe BC – www.worksafebc.com


Immigration
Canada Immigration and Citizenship – www.cic.gc.ca
BC Provincial Nominee Program – www.welcomebc.ca/immigrate-to-b-c/b-c-provincial-nominee-program


Building an Age Friendly Business
SPARC – www.sparc.bc.ca
Age Friendly – www.gov.bc.ca/agefriendly


 

For more information, please contact us.